The New Zealand Government has announced new restrictions on travel across the country.

The Government says travellers travelling from Auckland, Hamilton, Hamilton Harbour and Hamilton, as well as Hamilton, Canterbury and Canterbury Island will be banned from travelling by air.

They will be limited to flying by public transport, train, tram and boat for up to 60 days.

The restriction applies to New Zealand citizens aged 15 and over.

Those travelling from the US to New York will also be barred from flying for up for 30 days.

Travellers from Canada to New Brunswick will also need to obtain permission from the Governor in the Federal Territories.

New Zealand is the most populous country in the world, but its population is only around 10.5 million people.

It is the first time in history that the Government has banned the export of alcohol and tobacco products.

New South Wales has also issued similar restrictions, with the Governor threatening to take legal action against any Australian who tries to fly into New South Wales, and to cancel the visas of anyone from the United Kingdom, the United States, China, Japan, Iran, South Korea and Singapore.

Topics:travel-and-tourism,government-and‑politics,immigration,australiaFirst posted November 03, 2019 13:07:00Contact James BrownerMore stories from New Zealand